Find Out the Champions Trophy Winners List

By March 25, 2021 No Comments

Earlier version of the ICC Champions Trophy, the championship was played in a knock-out format in the year 1998 in Bangladesh. The following 9 teams were featured in the tournament:

– Australia

– India

– South Africa

– Pakistan

– Sri Lanka

– West Indies

– England

Zimbabwe and New Zealand played a pre-qualifier. New Zealand was a winner. The matches were played in Dhaka. Interestingly, the championship is remembered as the only victorious campaign of South Africa in an ICC multi-team ODI event. England was defeated in the quarter-final by 6 wickets and 20 balls.

This tournament is also remembered for 141 set by Sachin Tendulkar against Australia which gave 44-run win for India. It was also was the highest score in the tournament.

Jacques Kallis was declared as the player of the tournament.

Champions Trophy 2013

Another very memorable championship was held on June 23 in the year 2013. India defeated England to win the Champions Trophy. Exerts slated the match to be a 50-over contest. However, the rain shortened the affair to about 20-overs for each side.

This match started with England winning the toss between both sides. It opted to take up bowling first. At this point, the side led by MS Dhoni was constrained to just 129/7 for the allotted 20 overs.

Virat Kohli played well by scoring top for the Men in Blue. Kohli played massively for a knock of 43 runs earned from 34 balls. This score included 4 boundaries and 1 six.

Ravindra Jadeja played an interesting cameo in the final overs where he scored 33 runs off with just 25 balls. This was an important score as it snowballed total past of the team’s 120-run mark.

Ravi Bopara did an amazing job by taking three wickets for England. While chasing for 130, England was left at 46/4 during the 8th over. All of the following batsmen were sent back to the pavilion:

– Alastair Cook (2)

– Jonathan Trott (20)

– Ian Bell (13)

– Joe Root (7)

Ravi Bopara and Eoin Morgan secured the ship for England. The two contributed to a massive 64 runs for the fifth wicket.

The target was around 20 runs away. England lost the wickets of Morgan (33) and Bopara (30). Ishant Sharma sent these batsmen back to the pavilion. This came as a big blow to the team. England failed to recover post dismissal of both batsmen. Hence, the side lost the finals by 5 runs.

This win gave Mahendra Singh Dhoni the golden chance to become the first captain in the history of cricket to win all major ICC trophies. These include:

– 50-over World Cup

– 20-over World Cup

– Champions Trophy

Champions Trophy Winners List

The winner’s list of Champions Trophy includes:

  1. 1998, Bangladesh

Winner: South Africa

Player of the tournament: Jacques Kallis

Top run-scorer: Phillo Wallace – 221 runs

Top wicket-taker: Jacques Kallis – 8 wickets

  1. 2000, Kenya

Winner: New Zealand

Top run-scorer: Sourav Ganguly – 348 runs

Top wicket-taker: Venkatesh Prasad – 8 wickets

  1. 2002, Sri Lanka

Winner: Shared between India and Sri Lanka

Top run-scorer: Virender Sehwag – 271 runs

Top wicket-taker: Muttiah Muralitharan – 10 wickets

  1. 2004, England

Winner: West Indies

Player of the Series: Ramnaresh Sarwan

Top run-scorer: Marcus Trescothick – 261 runs

Top wicket-taker: Andrew Flintoff – 9 wickets

  1. 2006, India

Winner: Australia

Player of the tournament: Chris Gayle

Top run-scorer: Chris Gayle – 474 runs

Top wicket-taker: Jerome Taylor – 13 wickets

  1. 2009, South Africa

Winner: Australia

Player of the tournament: Ricky Ponting

Top run-scorer: Ricky Ponting – 288 runs

Top wicket-taker: Wayne Parnell – 11 wickets

  1. 2013, England

Winner: India

Player of the tournament: Shikhar Dhawan

Top run-scorer: Shikhar Dhawan – 363 runs

Top wicket-taker: Ravindra Jadeja – 12 wickets

  1. 2017, England Wales

Winner: Pakistan

Player of the tournament: Hassan Ali

Top run-scorer: Shikhar Dhawan – 338 runs

Top wicket-taker: Hassan Ali – 13 wickets